It Burned Like Fire

One day, not long from now, someone will take me away. She will come like a strong gush of the Northern wind, storming everything in its path, wrecking every conceivable structural defense propped up, and leaving everyone destroyed.

One day, not long from now, someone will come and she will command me in ways I have never obeyed before, demanding every inch of my flesh, ripping apart any reluctance I may have, to conquer my soul.

One day, not long from now, when everything’s been said and done, she will come like a vengeance … prying everything hidden, unmasking everything covered. Of noble birth she comes, yet gives nothing but trouble.

One day, not long from now, she will eat every bone in my body and spit it at her whim. Her capricious mood I will serve, while she rests her feet on my back. She will taunt me with pleasure, while her smile I will treasure. She will cajole me with treats, yet demand for my subservience.

One day, not long from now, roles will be reversed and she will be my master and I her slave. She will drag me from my post as I taste the bitter tang of earth. She will strip my very soul naked, baring even my shadow.

One day, not long from now, I will no longer breathe the sweet air of freedom … I will no longer live for me … but for her.

One day, not long from now, she will come to haunt me in my dreams and slay every God I prayed to, while banish every demon I’ve feared.

One day, not long from now, she will laugh at all my dreams as she crushes them onto her feet. She will do all these things because she had the arrogance of knowing the Truth, my Truth.

One day, not long from now, she will come for me and take me away from all the comfort I have ever known … and torture me with the Unknown.

I will leave her, oh how I will try … I will reason, rationalize, argue, debate, lie, steal, cheat or borrow more time on this earth. I will force her to release me … beg the gods, pray to demons, ask mercy for all the sins I have committed.

But even Hope shall abandon me for she who comes for me holds the Key. It unlocks one area in my soul that has been forever shut. It opens the door to the core of my being … because no matter how far I go, no matter how long it takes … she will find me … one day, not long from now.

I will follow her … I will obey her … because not to do so seared my skin as the sun melts the ice. Not to do so eats away every memory I ever had, peeling away the very skin of my body, hurting, painfully, most cruelly … because not to do so … burned my soul like fire.

One day, not long from now …

About Asmartrock

N. Mark Castro is the chief political communications strategist for PT AsiaLeads, a political and communications policy-making body based in Jakarta, Indonesia. He is also the Executive Director at the Southeast Asia Consulting Group, an investment advisory company assisting clients roll out their presence for the ASEAN Economic Integration in partnership with government. The views posted here are his own and do not in any way reflect the views of the companies he represents.

Posted on December 6, 2012, in General and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

ItandEat

Faces and Places

Unspun

Unspinning spin and other distractions

spiceislandsblog

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Salt and Light

Talk minor, act major.

PikselPal

any screen one goals, Yours

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

We'll Always have Casablanca

Maybe not today, maybe not tomorrow...but soon! And for the rest of your life.

blueVisions Indonesia

Certainty, Innovation, Excellence.

blueVisions Australia

Certainty, Innovation, Excellence.

Health & Family

A healthy balance of the mind, body and spirit

Teppy and Her Other Sides

Eat well, live well, and be merry!

loveheartseverywhere

my collection of love & hearts for you and from you, around the world

theconservativehillbilly

Confronting stupid people with the cold hard conservative fist of truth

The Sentient Mouse

From my soul to yours...

wanhandredwan

...of wander & wonders

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

