Dissecting a Viral Hoax: Bill Cosby’s “I’m 83 And Tired”

By N Mark Castro

Photo: Bill Cosby "I'm 83 and Tired" I'm 83. Except for brief period in the 50's when I was doing my National Service, I've worked hard since I was 17. Except for some some serious health challenges, I put in 50-hour weeks, and didn't call in sick in nearly 40 years. I made a reasonable salary, but I didn't inherit my job or my income, and I worked to get where I am. Given the economy, it looks as though retirement was a bad idea, and I'm tired. Very tired. I'm tired of being told that I have to "spread the wealth" to people who don't have my work ethic. I'm tired of being told the government will take the money I earned, by force if necessary, and give it to people too lazy to earn it. I'm tired of being told that Islam is a "Religion of Peace," when every day I can read dozens of stories of Muslim men killing their sisters, wives and daughters for their family "honor"; of Muslims rioting over some slight offense; of Muslims murdering Christian and Jews because they aren't "believers"; of Muslims burning schools for girls; of Muslims stoning teenage rape victims to death for "adultery"; of Muslims mutilating the genitals of little girls; all in the name of Allah, because the Qur'an and Shari'a law tells them to. I'm tired of being told that out of "tolerance for other cultures" we must let Saudi Arabia and other Arab countries use our oil money to fund mosques and Madrasa Islamic schools to preach hate in Australia , New Zealand , UK, America and Canada , while no one from these countries are allowed to fund a church, synagogue or religious school in Saudi Arabia or any other Arab country to teach love and tolerance.. I'm tired of being told I must lower my living standard to fight global warming, which no one is allowed to debate. I'm tired of being told that drug addicts have a disease, and I must help support and treat them, and pay for the damage they do. Did a giant germ rush out of a dark alley, grab them, and stuff white powder up their noses or stick a needle in their arm while they tried to fight it off? I'm tired of hearing wealthy athletes, entertainers and politicians of all parties talking about innocent mistakes, stupid mistakes or youthful mistakes, when we all know they think their only mistake was getting caught. I'm tired of people with a sense of entitlement, rich or poor. I'm really tired of people who don't take responsibility for their lives and actions. I'm tired of hearing them blame the government, or discrimination or big-whatever for their problems. I'm also tired and fed up with seeing young men and women in their teens and early 20's be-deck them selves in tattoos and face studs, thereby making themselves unemployable and claiming money from the Government. Yes, I'm damn tired. But I'm also glad to be 83.. Because, mostly, I'm not going to have to see the world these people are making. I'm just sorry for my granddaughter and their children. Thank God I'm on the way out and not on the way in. There is no way this will be widely publicized, unless each of us sends it on! This is your chance to make a difference. " I'm 83 and I'm tired. If you don't agree you are part of the problem!I’m 83. Except for brief period in the 50′s when I was doing my National Service, I’ve worked hard since I was 17. Except for so…me some serious health challenges, I put in 50-hour weeks, and didn’t call in sick in nearly 40 years. I made a reasonable salary, but I didn’t inherit my job or my income, and I worked to get where I am. Given the economy, it looks as though retirement was a bad idea, and I’m tired. Very tired.

I’m tired of being told that I have to “spread the wealth” to people who don’t have my work ethic. I’m tired of being told the government will take the money I earned, by force if necessary, and give it to people too lazy to earn it.

I’m tired of being told that Islam is a “Religion of Peace,” when every day I can read dozens of stories of Muslim men killing their sisters, wives and daughters for their family “honor”; of Muslims rioting over some slight offense; of Muslims murdering Christian and Jews because they aren’t “believers”; of Muslims burning schools for girls; of Muslims stoning teenage rape victims to death for “adultery”; of Muslims mutilating the genitals of little girls; all in the name of Allah, because the Qur’an and Shari’a law tells them to.

I’m tired of being told that out of “tolerance for other cultures” we must let Saudi Arabia and other Arab countries use our oil money to fund mosques and Madrasa Islamic schools to preach hate in Australia, New Zealand, UK, America and Canada , while no one from these countries are allowed to fund a church, synagogue or religious school in Saudi Arabia or any other Arab country to teach love and tolerance.

I’m tired of being told I must lower my living standard to fight global warming, which no one is allowed to debate.

I’m tired of being told that drug addicts have a disease, and I must help support and treat them, and pay for the damage they do. Did a giant germ rush out of a dark alley, grab them, and stuff white powder up their noses or stick a needle in their arm while they tried to fight it off?

I’m tired of hearing wealthy athletes, entertainers and politicians of all parties talking about innocent mistakes, stupid mistakes or youthful mistakes, when we all know they think their only mistake was getting caught. I’m tired of people with a sense of entitlement, rich or poor.

I’m really tired of people who don’t take responsibility for their lives and actions. I’m tired of hearing them blame the government, or discrimination or big-whatever for their problems.

I’m also tired and fed up with seeing young men and women in their teens and early 20′s be-deck them selves in tattoos and face studs, thereby making themselves unemployable and claiming money from the Government.

Yes, I’m damn tired. But I’m also glad to be 83. Because, mostly, I’m not going to have to see the world these people are making. I’m just sorry for my granddaughter and their children. Thank God I’m on the way out and not on the way in.

There is no way this will be widely publicized, unless each of us sends it on!

This is your chance to make a difference.

I’m 83 and I’m tired. If you don’t agree you are part of the problem!

What’s tiring are hoaxes like these and distributed by people who don’t know any better.

About Asmartrock

N. Mark Castro is the chief political communications strategist for PT AsiaLeads, a political and communications policy-making body based in Jakarta, Indonesia. He is also the Executive Director at the Southeast Asia Consulting Group, an investment advisory company assisting clients roll out their presence for the ASEAN Economic Integration in partnership with government. The views posted here are his own and do not in any way reflect the views of the companies he represents.

Posted on February 6, 2013, in Fatherhood, General, Politics, Religion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 37 Comments.

  1. Cosby or not – the author is spot on. I’m not 83 but I’m tired and damned angry about these things. Society is made weaker every day by its tolerance of . . . weakness and the excuses made for it.

    • The issue raised by the original speaker rings true for the most part but the purpose of the post isn’t so much as to contest it’s content but rather how viral communications can be misused, hence, the need for clarification.

      For the sake of argument, the wisdom of The Beatitudes is as beautiful and truthful as whoever may have said it but we cannot exactly just apply it the quote to Buddha or Mohammed.

      Nonetheless, this post agrees with the merits of the statements just not with to whom it was ascribed as even Bill Cosby himself had complained and made clarifications about it.

      Thank you for reading and your comments.

  2. Who cares who wrote it ! It speaks for an awful lot of us in this country. If I were Cosby I’d be taking the credit because it sounds like something he would say. There’s always some smartassrock out there…

    • But you’re not Cosby and even he complains. It’s true for you. It’s true for me. It’s true for some. It’s not true for most and it’s not true for him.

      There’s nothing smartass about that. It’s called fact.

  3. Until you can clarify who actually wrote it and what points Mr. Cosby disagrees with, I will continue to believe that it came from him. I read the post for the first time in February of this year and this is the first time I have seen it disputed. Like many so-called experts on the web, you offer no proof of your allegations and expect everyone to believe your contention because you have a masthead and a following. So did Jim Jones, and look where it got his followers in Jonestown.

  4. edward crutchley

    I agree with what Bill Cosby said on his website those are ugly views. Even if you agree one or more I think those are too many different immortant views being clumped together. How can you say there part of “the problem” if they don’t agree with your views on religion, drug addiction, global warming, people who are on government aids work ethic (which they used twice to clump teens with tatoos), and views on government? Each one of those are important topics that need debated individually!

  5. Amen James

  6. I have no Idea how Mr. Cosby made his way onto my face book page, however I feel honored that it happened. I have heard Mr. Cosby speak many times & I generally agree with his wisdom. This time he has struck a nerve I have to respectfully disagree with his opinion & after all that’s all it is, An opinion.

    I am only about two years younger than Mr. Cosby & Being tired is not part of my vocabulary. Like him I too have worked extremely hard. probably at a job he wouldn’t last two days. Mr. Cosby must be related to the person who coined the phrase ” All men are created equal”

    Mr. Cosby’s opinion reflects exactly what is wrong with the world today. it is one that
    Basically Says ” I got mine you get yours” But getting yours is not the same for everyone.
    And you did not exactly get yours all by yourself it was acquired because folks like me enjoyed your labor otherwise you might have been left out in the cold like lots of others.

    You are tired of other countries using our money to build Churches.
    Mr. Cosby the God I worship built this entire universe in six days & i don’t think he took up a collection for a building fund.

    I do not envy you sir, I pity you it seem you are so wrapped up in your success that you want to keep it all to your self & you can for awhile but in the flicker of a heart beat the
    rewards of your success will ever bit belong to someone else. probably someone who thinks Manual Labor is a Mexican.

    • Just to clarify, dear reader, THIS IS NOT A STATEMENT MADE BY MR BILL COSBY NOR DOES HE SUBSCRIBE TO WHAT WAS SAID.

      Such disclaimer was made and acknowledged even in his own website.

    • Jae Ashley Stewart

      You missed the point completely regarding other countries building their churches here. These people worship a “god” that breeds hate and requires them to kill Christians. I agree totally that we are stupid for letting our enemies build their churches in the United States.

      • Oh sure, then I can just say anything “wise” by your definition of it and put your name on it and spread it on all social media.

        At least we got that one cleared.

        So by saying that a number of terrorists that incite people to kill Christians, everyone is.

        What about the Christians that killed innocent Catholics? Or fellow Christians? Let’s not stop there. Kill the Jews as well, right? After all, Hitler was a Christian. And so was Milosevic.

        In other words, if you were God, you would choose who gets sunlight and air regardless whether they’re a sinner or saint.

        Brilliant judgement call.

        “All people in the world who are neither Christian nor White should not be allowed to live or worship at all.” – Jae Ashley Stewart

        Quid pro quo, right?

  7. Jae Ashley Stewart

    Regardless of whether Bill Cosby said this, I agree with everything that was written. Whoever wrote this is very wise. He or she knew that this message would have a better chance of being read if people thought Bill Cosby said it. THIS NEEDED SAYING, AND I AM PASSING IT ON.

  8. Thank you for putting up this post.
    Bill Cosby would have never wrote something that hateful and vile.
    What’s even worse about this fake letter and other similar texts is seeing how many people out there actually agree with it.
    It is a very sad world we live in, full of hate.

  9. I used to believe those things sadly. And no – from everything I have ever read from Bill Cosby – that is not him and he isn’t 83. And isn’t that photo from an interview with him after the Trayvon Martin shooting? I remember seeing his face in the interview – but his “tiredness” had to do with racism not welfare!

    I used to believe all that – then I traveled. I found most Muslim countries to be full of kind hardworking people, not terrorists.

    I found unbelievable poverty that drove people to crime in Bangladesh and that it was the consequences of decades of exploitation, not laziness.

    How quickly we are to assume everyone must have our same opportunities simply because they live in the same country we do.

    I’m tired.

  10. Thank you for being a rational voice from a young woman who’s seen parts of the “real” world and not from some trashy couch.

  11. So in the post it says he’s 76 and 83. If it were Cosby I think he would know his age.

  12. This sight must be run by an big ugly O supporter

    • First of all, it’s site not sight. Second, it’s “a big” not “an big”.

      Go back to school and ask for a refund. They ripped you off.

      • … but no denial of being ugly or an “O” supporter I see…

      • Ugliness is subjective. You can see the picture below, right? I’ve got villages that can easily destroy your baseless claim.

        The only thing we’ve established here is your lack of education and how little you really know about geopolitics other than McDonald’s.

        By “O” did you mean Oprah? If so, yes, she’s quite good.

        By “O” you mean Obama, dude, how dumb can you be? I’m in Asia. I don’t care whether you want a democrat or a republican to fuck up your dwindling economy.

        As far as I’m concerned, the best president America’s ever had is Harrison Ford.

        Or Michael Douglas.

  13. You offer no proof of this being a hoax. Just an obvious opinion. My opinion of you is that you’re an idiot. That’s no hoax.

    • And my opinion is you’re an idiot who can’t operate a computer enough to go to Bill Cosby’s website to hear him disown the piece and for the real person who admits to the piece.

      No wonder your government is in a shutdown. So many people walking around uneducated and dumb like you.

      That’s no hoax.

  14. Who cares if it’s a hoax if it’s all true moron

    • Because it isn’t you dumb idiot. Go to school.

      Oh, I forgot, only an uneducated trash like you would subscribe to what isn’t true.

      You’re the reason why no dumb idiot should be insured.

      • Why do you keep telling everyone to go back to school, is that your answer to everything?
        You act like if someone doesn’t agree with you they are dumb or immature.

        Now who’s being haughty and self righteous, not that I agree with everything it says. Muslims do preach that all infedels must be killed or converted. There laws are very middle aged still, maybe they need to be more civil and bring themselves into the times they are living!

        It’s also very disturbing to realize we live in a world full of hate and violence. People only seem to be getting worse and with every tragic event we all get a little less sensitive to people being murdered, raped, robbed and just plain fucked over by there government or authority figures. So in the end I supposes unless Jehovah, Buddha, or Allah desire to change this we are stuck and have to deal with it. Try changing six billion people’s views and faiths good luck bro!!

      • For those who are dumb enough NOT TO READ THAT MR BILL COSBY HIMSELF HAS REFUTED THIS STATEMENT, YES.

        It’s not a question of whether or not they agree with me or what it says (which, as I said, I do not mind and, with some parts, I am in agreement with),however, insofar as ascribing a political and racist statement to a person who has never said it, yes, they should go back to school.

        So it isn’t about whether or not they agree with me. It’s about their disagreement to a FACT as spoken and written by Bill Cosby himself and they still insist that it’s Bill Cosby himself who said it. So that’s idiotic and the height of utter stupidity which can only be corrected if they went back to school.

        As for your sweeping statement that MUSLIMS (generalizing ALL) that preach that all infidels (your spelling corrected) must be killed or converted is, again, a reflection of a very limited scope of understanding. After all, the NAZIS are Christians. After all, the Catholic priests are pedophiles. After all, they started The Crusades.

        When does it end?

        I am not here to change 7 BILLION people’s views (yes, it’s 7 and not 6) but at least let’s start with basic decency and let off Bill Cosby who never said it and who’s done nothing but provide entertainment to the world.

        Thanks, bro.

      • And btw are you Muslim?

      • Actually, I’m a Catholic in the largest Catholic country in Asia Pacific and the only country on earth where divorce is not allowed. We’ve been killing Terrorist Moslems since Day 1 in the Philippines and they’re the most notorious and single-minded people I’ve ever met, with no room for reason.

        Currently, I’m a Catholic practicing my faith in the world’s largest Moslem country on earth, which is Indonesia, and here I find that people are people, Asians are Asians. Despite the noise made by a very small group of idiots who are conservative and terrorist Moslems, the larger population of Indonesian Moslems are moderate, open-minded, greet us Christmas and even protect us to practice our faith.

        For every terrorist and conservative Moslem, there is an equal amount of conservative Christian that think everyone else will never enter heaven.

        So no, I’m not a Moslem, bro. I’m a Catholic who, frankly, can do away with any religion whatsoever and just deal with it directly to God.

      • Tell me what part in all that is NOT true,Muslims are the true killers,and I guess Allah means “big pussy” in the Muslim word,why do they all have to cover there face and shot and kill unarmed people….oh Allah”big pussy” must have wrote that lmoa

  15. Who cares if it’s a hoax? Let me paste together some political rhetoric that you oppose and then tack your name to it and send it to everyone you know claiming you said that you are in favor of things they know you would be against. Watch the accusations fly then. Who cares if it’s a hoax? Mr. Bill Cosby probably cares, which is why he made a statement refuting the validity of the original message. Wow, if this is really what this country has come to, I’m defecting to Ireland.

    • Thank you for putting it succinctly as most readers here seem to not understand that Bill Cosby refuses to admit ever saying or writing this.

      What’s so difficult to understand there?

      • It’s okay I understand, I see the world for what it is and generalizing a whole race or group of people is unjust. But at the same time ignoring that there are some individuals that are not like that whether they be Christian or Muslim or whatever faith. We all have to be aware of are surroundings so maybe I generalize things as a safety precaution. I hope the world wakes up one day and changes its views.

Leave a Reply

ItandEat

Faces and Places

Unspun

Unspinning spin and other distractions

spiceislandsblog

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Salt and Light

Talk minor, act major.

PikselPal

any screen one goals, Yours

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

We'll Always have Casablanca

Maybe not today, maybe not tomorrow...but soon! And for the rest of your life.

blueVisions Indonesia

Certainty, Innovation, Excellence.

blueVisions Australia

Certainty, Innovation, Excellence.

Health & Family

A healthy balance of the mind, body and spirit

Teppy and Her Other Sides

Eat well, live well, and be merry!

loveheartseverywhere

my collection of love & hearts for you and from you, around the world

theconservativehillbilly

Confronting stupid people with the cold hard conservative fist of truth

The Sentient Mouse

From my soul to yours...

wanhandredwan

...of wander & wonders

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

